FO: Fernie Hat

December 2, 2014

Fernie hatI finished up my Fernie hat ahead of deadline (who am I?) and wore it out last Sunday, even getting this nifty photo.  It isn’t often a selfie works out, but I like this one.  Mr. J says it looks like I’m up to something, to which I replied “aren’t I always?”.  That hat came out large, so let’s just call it “slouchy” shall we?  The circumference is good, and if I roll the brim up the top will fit as well.  And if I really pull it up by the pom-pom I look like Marge Simpson.  A win all around I say.  The mohair goat yarn is so soft, and non-scratchy on my forehead.  Most wools scratch my skin.  I am busy using up the second ball of yarn in a matching cowl, basically the hat pattern but ribbing instead of decreases to leave it open.  I want something snug around my chin when it gets cold.

Advent CalendarWe started our advent calendar on Sunday night, and so far it is going well.  I started gluing the numbers on the grab bags during Fia’s bathtime, and once she came down and immediately started gluing them on herself I wished I had made this an activity during the day.  She loves gluing things on things it seems.  I had thought the numbers were stickers, but they were not.  Sigh, can’t count on the Dollar Store for anything these days.  I just used the cloth pins I bought to pin the bags to our horizontal (ugly) blinds.  We were talking about hanging a string up, but this was so much easier and it is working well.  Little hands and paws can’t get them easily!  I put decorations in each bag, and the bags divisible by 3 have candy canes in them.  So far Fia is very excited and enjoying the routine of opening a bag each morning.  We talk about how many days left until Christmas, and I think it is helping her visualize it.  Can you see which bag Fia really, really helped with?

Leave a Reply

