WIP: My Ontario Project

February 24, 2015

Bubblemania scarfThe month of February is dedicated to Ontario-which is a province with so much to choose from.  Many, many yarns are made in Ontario, and many designers live and work there.  Many good, good designers.  My project this month is using yarn I bought in Toronto a few years ago from a company named Painted Fleece, and is a blend of wool, cashmere and nylon.  This could have been a pair of socks, but I decided to make a scarf.  The pattern is named “Bubblemania” and I’ve admired it for a few months.  I wanted something lacy, but not complicated as I have the attention span of a gnat at night.  And the energy of a hibernating bear.  I added a ruffle to the end just to finish it off, the cast on edge looked a little bit plain.  The goal is of course to have this finished by the end of the month, and as I have 24 grams to go, this should be possible.  I will stop knitting when I have just under 10 grams so that I have enough for the ruffle.  I have noticed that the stitch pattern of Bubblemania has shown up in a sweater pattern lately, which I may consider making.  It has a very cute vintage look to it.

Here in Calgary we are having weather guilt; while the rest of the east coast is suffering massive snow storms and cold weather, we are riding our bikes outside, and plenty of people are venturing outside not only without parkas but in shorts!  It has been that warm.  How strange is it that Calgary is the tropical capital of Canada?

Leave a Reply

