Ontario and Quebec FO’s

March 28, 2015

Bubblemania scarf completeI am getting behind on posting about my Canada KAL projects!  Two more are now complete.   I finished up Bubblemania just before the deadline, and even won the prize for the month.  Not bad!  Plus I really like this scarf, pink is a good neutral for me I like wearing pink and grey.  It helps that one of my favorite pair of shoes to wear is also pink and grey.  I am wearing this scarf once or twice a week now, the bit of cashmere is enough to make it very soft.  I bought the yarn in Ontario years ago at a store in the Beach.  It is not the store my Grandmother used to knit for, that one is closed, but it is close to it.  Like so many things I had a pattern in mind, but the yarn wasn’t right for it in the end, and sat in stash for years until being dragged to light by the KAL.  Very glad it is now a useful garment!

Quebec CowlThis angora/qiviut yarn from Cottage Craft Angora in Quebec is another stash yarn that I was always wanting to knit up, but never got around to.  I picked a pattern from Glenna C. (an Ontario designer no less, now I’m mixing provinces!!) as I wanted something lacey but with just a little bit of simple lace.  This is perfect, very warm, and delicate.  The yarn is unbelievable in how soft and warm it is, bunnies and musk oxen playing nicely together.  I have some more merino/qiviut that also needs knitting up.  I’m really happy with both these projects.

The first photo was taken in Drumheller, a town which has dinosaurs roaming free in its parks and streets.  We went there for my birthday weekend this year.  We had a lot of fun, and enjoyed the dinosaur museum immensely.  We did not enjoy the hockey team parents partying until 2 am each night.  I actually heard their own children asking them to be quiet!  Aside from that Fia and I did some very good dinosaur impressions around the huge t-rex bones before many other people arrived.

Leave a Reply

